Author Topic: reporting on GFS in cash basis accounting  (Read 343 times)

dormandy

• Bishkek
  • PFM Member
reporting on GFS in cash basis accounting
« on: February 25, 2013, 11:18:43 GMT »
Are there any good ideas or articles on applying GFS where financial statements are  prepared on IPSAS  cash basis ? Should GFS 1986 apply or GFS 2001 ? Which financial statements  should be implemented  ? (Only the cash flow? )
« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 10:04:11 GMT by Napodano »

petagny

• Global Moderator
  • PFM Member
Re: reporting on GFS in cash basis accounting
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2013, 10:01:40 GMT »
The chapter on accounting in Allen and Tommasi's book on public expenditure management is, I think, useful on this issue. It doesn't explicitly answer your question, but it gives pointers. I'm not an accounting expert, but I do not think that adopting GFS 2001 precludes continuing on a cash basis (although it will not be possible to produce the full set of accounts intended by GFS 2001). Adopting GFS 2001 does, however, signal an intention to move towards accrual accounting though, which seems to be part of the conventional wisdom (but is not without its dissenters).
« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 10:04:52 GMT by Napodano »

stratmen

• REPIM Serbia
  • PFM Member
Re: reporting on GFS in cash basis accounting
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 23:04:40 GMT »
I think that the the most important information is missing: what is the underlying bookkeeping system.